All-American Chili and Spicy Jalapeno Corn Bread

Fall is here.  Football season is here.  And my first batch of chili is here.

All-American Chili can be made in advance (I made mine the night before) and then reheated before eating.  It’s meaty and not overly spicy.  I actually would add some red pepper flakes if I made this chili again.

weekend 019

 

Changes to the recipe I made:  I wasn’t able to find spicy turkey Italian sausage so we used the traditional Italian sausage (hence why I needed some added heat) and instead of sirloin, I used ground bison.

weekend 020

 

Alongside the chili, Spicy Jalapeno Corn Bread.  This cornbread is loaded with texture and flavor.  I cooked the cornbread in a cast-iron skillet which preheated in the oven while I mixed up the batter.  Because the batter is poured into a screaming-hot skillet, a fantastic crust is formed around the edges.  By far, the best part was the crusty edges.  Buttermilk kept the cornbread moist without needing much added-fat.  In fact, there is only 2 tablespoon of butter in this recipe.  Honey lends a smidge of sweetness to the bread that pairs wonderfully with the spicy pickled jalapenos.  Seriously, one of the best corn bread recipes to date.

weekend 021

 

If this isn’t the perfect dinner for watching college football, I don’t know what is.

Leave a Reply

