Stuffed Jalapenos

The older I get the more I like when the Pirates kick-off at noon.  I get up insanely early during the week, so a 6:30 am wake up call isn’t all that bad on a Saturday.  We did a little tailgating and saw some old friends.  Post-win, we headed home and arrived in time to watch more football without the rain.

As an appetizer, I made stuffed jalapenos.  I’ve made stuffed jalapenos many a times.  Usually without using a recipe.

Stuffed inside the jalapenos (which were huge – from Trader Joe’s), was bacon, whipped cream cheese, cheddar cheese (I used a cheddar and Gruyere mix), green onions, lime juice and garlic.  Baked until the jalapenos are soft and then broiled until browned on top.

weekend 016

I was supposed to sprinkle the final product with chopped cilantro.  The cilantro is still in my fridge.  I hate it when that happens.

These addicting bites are full of flavor.  A little bacon goes a long way and the addition of lime juice was a much appreciated freshness.

The only warning I’ll give you – wear disposable gloves when you de-seed the peppers.  Trust me.

Leave a Reply

