Banana Almond Meal Muffins {gluten-free}

Good morning, friends!  I hope you all had a wonderful weekend.

In the zone.

 

I didn’t even let the rain get me down!

Fall

Mine was a perfect little fall weekend – date night at home with Big Guy, tailgating, a Pirate win and more delicious eats.  On Sunday we celebrated a friends 30th birthday with a mimosa brunch.  And now it’s Monday.  But it’s going to be a great week.  I just know it.

On Friday, I did a little baking for the tailgate the next morning.  I knew I was going to make the best sausage balls ever for the guys but I wanted some muffins.  Healthier muffins.  I had a few brown bananas that needed to be used so I searched and found a Banana Almond Meal Muffin recipe.  I was unsure of how they might turn out as I usually don’t do a lot of gluten-free baking (oat flour and almond meal were used).

But one bite and I knew I had found my new favorite muffin recipe.  They seriously tasted like the banana bread I grew up loving and eating during Christmastime.

I see these becoming a staple in our house.  The ingredient list is rather simple – no funny ingredients and no added white sugar.

weekend 011

Mashed brown bananas provide lots of sweetness so you only need a small amount of added sugar.  I went with maple syrup (you could used honey or agave).  You could also make these muffins vegan by using flax eggs.  I used regular ole chicken eggs.  The almond meal gives these muffins some texture and a nutty flavor that is so delicious.

I enjoy the muffins alone or with a little bit of peanut butter spread on top.

weekend 012

 

A perfect snack or breakfast option that fast, delicious and healthy.

Leave a Reply

