Salted Caramel Apple Upside Down Cake

If you ever come to visit me I promise to have a sweet treat awaiting your arrival.  That’s a promise.

And my parents visit this past weekend was no exception.  Not only did I want to have a sweet treat for my sweet parents but I needed to redeem myself after two failed batches of muffins the weekend before.

I was determined to have a success under my belt.  I’ve made pineapple upside down cakes with much success in the past so I was excited to try a more “fall” upside down cake.  Salted Caramel Apple Upside Down Cake was my redemption cake.

parents 009

Sweet caramel is made by combining butter (everything wonderful starts with butter), brown sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg and vanilla.  A layer of caramel is then topped with the most delicious thinly sliced Honeycrisp apples I’ve ever tasted (from Trader Joe’s).  On top of the apples, a cake layer.  Baked to perfection and then saying multiple prayers before flipping the cake and slowly removing the pan.

parents 011

Ta-Da!

Redemption is mine.

At least until the next muffin recipe…

One thought on “Salted Caramel Apple Upside Down Cake

Leave a Reply

