Black Bean and Quinoa Stuffed Bell Peppers

It may be October but I still have bell peppers growing in full force in the garden.  What better way to use up bell peppers than to stuff ’em with all kinds of good stuff?  Plus, I got to use a jalapeno from the garden and the last of the tomatoes that we grew.  I used this recipe but obviously didn’t have everything on hand – so I used what I had and enjoyed every bite.  Also, my bell peppers are smaller than the ones you might find at the grocery store so I just chopped off the top of the peppers and stuffed them whole instead of halving each pepper.  I still had more than plenty stuffing and I didn’t even add the sweet potato!

ecu unc 008

 

The pictures are horrific and I know it.  I just wasn’t in the mood to find the “right”angle on Sunday.

But despite their looks, they’re delicious.

What is it with me and ugly food these days?

ecu unc 010

 

The changes I made to the recipe:  I used red onion instead of yellow onion; I used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth; I left out the sweet potato; I used diced grape tomatoes instead of Roma’s; I left out the cilantro; and I used cheddar cheese on top instead of colby jack.

And I’ve been eating them all week long for lunch.

Leave a Reply

