Hawaiian Pizza Salad

Aloha!  Today I have a pizza-inspired salad that is perfect for lunch or dinner and clocks in at under 300 calories.  Don’t get me wrong, I still love Hawaiian pizza (actually all pizzas) but this salad has the perfect combination of sweet and salty that will fill you up but not weigh you down.

On a typical Hawaiian pizza you have a red tomato sauce.  With a salad, use fresh chopped tomatoes instead.  Pineapple and ham is what really makes a pizza a Hawaiian pizza and this salad has both!  Sliced deli ham and pineapple chunks are found throughout this salad.  Cheese is a must in my world of pizza and this salad includes diced cheddar for maximum flavor.  I love red onion – so that’s included as well.  For the dressing – it doesn’t really need much!  But I went with a light balsamic dressing to add a punch of flavor.

Some people are weird about fruit on their pizza – but most people can handle fruit on their salad.  I enjoy anything and everything on pizza and salads alike.  The weirder, the better.

Are you a Hawaiian pizza lover?  What’s your favorite pizza toppings that could inspire a new salad combination?

2 thoughts on “Hawaiian Pizza Salad

  1. I learned by accident that my greek pizza toppings make a good salad. The crust would not come off the pan so we grabbed the salad greens and scraped the pizza topping onto them. We liked that the topping was still warm. I had to soak the pan to get the crust off. Never did figure out why it stuck — hadn’t happened before or since.

Leave a Reply

