Apricot-Glazed Grilled Chicken and Dill Roasted Carrots

Big Guy has been home for dinner all week.  And it’s been amazing.  Not only do I have someone to talk to, but we actually eat at the kitchen table.  And Big Guy being home means the grill is fired up.

I’ve had a little jar of apricot preserves taunting me in the pantry.  I’m not really sure why I bought the jar but it’s there.  And I just hate letting things go to waste.  So I did a little search on Cooking Light and found a recipe for Apricot-Glazed Chicken.  I have a feeling that a variety of preserve flavors would work for this recipe, such as fig preserves or blueberry preserves.  For the glaze, 3 tablespoons apricot preserves, 2 tablespoons red wine vinegar (I bet balsamic vinegar would be amazing with blueberry preserves), 1 tablespoon olive oil and 3 minced garlic cloves.  While grilling the chicken (I used skinless, bone-in chicken thighs and drumstick), Big Guy brushed them with the glaze.

apricot 002

On the side, roasted dill carrots.  I had a bag of baby carrots that I knew I couldn’t demolish on my own and roasting carrots isn’t something I regularly do.  I love cooked carrots.  These carrots are roasted with 1 tablespoon of olive oil and a sprinkle of salt for about 40 minutes at 425 degrees.  A sauce is made from 1 tablespoon of butter, 1 tablespoon of cornstarch, 1 tablespoon of dried dill and pepper.  The sauce is then poured over the cooked carrots.  I adore dill.  And these carrots were the star of the plate for me.  Such a different side dish than what you’ll usually find on our plates.

apricot 003

 

Despite fall being on the horizon (and after fall comes winter), grilling is not coming to an end.  And I thank Big Guy for that.

 

Leave a Reply

