Chicken Breasts Stuffed with Goat Cheese and Caramelized Onions plus a Tomato and Herb Salad

After a long day of travel on Sunday, I was more than happy when Big Guy offered to be in charge of dinner.  As much as I love going to the grocery store, that’s the last thing I wanted to do on Sunday evening.  Don’t worry.  I didn’t leave him alone in the kitchen – I enjoyed being the sous chef.

We still have lots of tomatoes in the garden and Big Guy loves using fresh herbs whenever possible.  I’m fairly certain that those two points prompted him to pull together a Tomato and Herb Salad to go on the side.  We served the salad without the Bibb lettuce and used the herb combination of parsley, basil, chives and tarragon.  Use your favorite combination of herbs or whatever you have growing in your garden.  Fresh herbs take tomatoes from being simply tomatoes to being simply scrumptious.

As for the main dish – Big Guy knows that I have a love affair with goat cheese.  It’s my absolute favorite.  And caramelized onions is a favorite of us both.  Combine the two and you have an amazing spread.  (I could have simply eaten crackers topped with the combination but I controlled myself.)  Here’s the original recipe for the Chicken Breasts Stuffed with Goat Cheese and Caramelized Onions.  We made the following changes – we used a regular sweet onion, diced and caramelized; I forgot to add the milk to the mixture but the warm onions melted the goat cheese beautifully; instead of thyme we used rosemary; and for the sauce I used the juice of one lemon instead of wine.

The sous chef was not in charge of plating – Big Guy takes full credit for the chicken sitting atop fresh basil leaves.

This meal makes me miss summer.  And it’s not officially even gone yet.

 

Leave a Reply

