Mississippi Sin and Kahlua-Pecan-Brown Sugar Baked Brie

College football season is here!  Football season brings about Saturdays full of tailgating, mimosas and appetizers.

Mississippi Sin

Mississippi Sin

There is no denying this as a “football” food.  Cheesy and served in a French bread loaf, guys will get caught red handed going in for “just one more taste.”  Mississippi Sin is easily made the day before, refrigerate and simply place in the bread loaf before baking the day of.  I followed the recipe, using Greek yogurt instead of sour cream and whipped cream cheese as the cream cheese.  I served this dip with wheat thins and raw veggies.

Baked Brie

Baked Brie

The baked brie was the appetizer I had in mind for the ladies (though we all enjoyed everything on the table).  I was so excited to make this appetizer because I got to use my new brie baker.  It’s the simple things in life.  The brie is super simple – brie (duh), 2/3 cup pecans, 1/4 cup brown sugar and 2 tablespoons Kahlua.  I followed the directions on the link above and it turned out beautifully.  I will warn you, this appetizer is sweet.  Super sweet.  And I like sweet things.  I think it was the Kahlua that took the appetizer to a different level of sweetness.

birthday 037

 

I can’t wait to share more appetizers with you as the season continues!!!

One thought on “Mississippi Sin and Kahlua-Pecan-Brown Sugar Baked Brie

Leave a Reply

