Insta-lately {Mother Earth, champagne toast, Pirates and a pool day}

I cannot even express how amazing the past 4 days have been.  Big Guy made sure that my 30th birthday weekend was one to remember.  It was jam-packed with friends, date night, entertaining and sunshine.  I am simply blessed and I know that if this past weekend is any indication of what my 30th year will hold, I’m a lucky lady.  I’ll have more details on the weekend in the next couple of days, but for now, here is the weekend through the lens of instagram.

On Thursday evening, we started my birthday weekend with friends at Mother Earth Brewery in Kinston.  I don’t drink a lot of beer these days but I enjoyed a seasonal beer (peach) that was amazing.  The Tap Room at the brewery was awesome.  Very different from what I expected.  Much more trendy but I loved it.

After Mother Earth, we headed across the street to a restaurant I’ve wanted to dine at for years.  And it was worth the wait.  Chef and the Farmer is a dining experience unlike any in the area.  Big Guy took a {blurry} picture of the ladies having a champagne toast.  Love these two girls.

I’m fairly certain this card was made for me.

On Friday night, Big Guy took me out on a date at SoCo that serves Southern comfort food on a farm.  We ate in the main dining room but there is also a chef’s table that I hope to one day experience with a group of friends.

The main dining room is located in an old tobacco barn.  Big Guy loved the atmosphere and I fell in love with the owners, Kimberly and Jeremy.  SoCo is their passion and they made dining at SoCo an experience.

We stayed the night at SoCo (it’s also a bed and breakfast) and the sous chef made us breakfast on Saturday morning.  A waffle, eggs and bacon – all local products.  Those eggs were the best I’ve ever had.

Dressed in my purple and gold, I was ready for the Pirate game on Saturday.  Here I am with my first glass of champs as a 30 year old.

Half birthday party, half tailgate – we enjoyed the company of two of our favorite couples.  So.much.fun.

Sunday was enjoyed with friends by the pool.  Though we dodged the rain a few times, the laughter and conversation was never lacking.

Thank you again to everyone that made this past weekend one of the best weekends yet.  And thank you Sugarland for this mimosa flavored-champagne soaked gluten-free cake.  It blew our socks off!

Leave a Reply

