Banana “Bread” Bars

I adore breakfast.  I mean, I just don’t understand how people “don’t have time” for breakfast or “forget” to eat breakfast.  That’s never happened to me.  Ever.

Big Guy doesn’t like breakfast.  But these day he eats breakfast.  Usually it’s Greek yogurt.

But this week we’ve both been enjoying Banana “Bread” Bars (a spin of skinnytaste’s Banana Split Bars).

Each bar has around 150 calories with 2 grams of fiber and 3.5 grams of protein.  Clearly I need more than 150 calories for breakfast so one morning I added some peanut butter on top.  Another morning I enjoyed scrambled eggs on the side.  Or you could be like Big Guy and simply eat two bars.

bars 002

 

To make them more “banana bread”-like and less “banana split”-like, I used raisins instead of craisins and almonds instead of walnuts.  I used maple syrup instead of honey.  I also left out the chocolate.  I’m not a huge chocolate girl in the mornings.

The bars are crumbly – more of a chewy granola bar but so delicious.  It honestly reminded me of my Momma’s banana bread except these are suitable for breakfast (not that I wouldn’t eat Momma’s banana bread for breakfast – I just know how much oil goes in those loafs).

bars 003

 

I really want to try making these again and using dried blueberries, maple and pecans.

These bars also make great snacks.  Simple wrap individually and throw one in your bag on the way out the door.

Go on, break the fast.

Leave a Reply

