Shrimp, Chorizo and Corn Salad

Another dinner enjoyed outside!  I honestly can’t believe it’s August, but I’ll take it.  Usually the humidity chokes us until the end of September so I’m loving this “cool” weather.

While I was in Columbia all weekend, Big Guy was at the beach for my brothers bachelor party.  On his way home from OIB, he grabbed some fresh shrimp.

Thankfully I had a few shrimp recipes up my sleeve that I’ve been wanting to make.  Shrimp, Chorizo and Corn Salad was on the al fresco menu Sunday night.

While I definitely used the recipe I did change up a few of the steps when it came to the preparation.  In a large bowl I combined the shrimp, corn, green onions, all the tomato halves, hot chile paste (I only used 1 tablespoon), lots of garlic and salt.  I decided to cook the chorizo first since we could only find the “crumbly” chorizo.  I simply cooked it like I was cooking sausage and then added all the other ingredients.  Cook the pan of goodness until the shrimp is cooked through.  After plating, top with fresh basil, more green onions, lime juice and a little lemon zest.

peaches 023

 

The shrimp were plump and delicious and had a little kick from the chile paste and the chorizo.  The corn still had a little “snap” in them that I really enjoyed that was found in every bite.  The tomatoes became even sweeter as they cooked and provided a great tasting broth that coated the whole dish.  The pop of flavor from the lemon and lime really made this a summer dinner.  And who doesn’t love the brightness of basil.  A summertime favorite of mine.

peaches 022

 

If only ever summer night ended with dinner on the back porch with my husband.

Leave a Reply

