Grilled Chicken with Tomato-Balsamic Sauce

We currently have an overabundance of tomatoes.  I’m giving them away (which isn’t a good business plan for Big Guy’s “produce stand” dream) to anyone and everyone.  I just can’t eat all of these things!

So lately, my recipes have had one criteria:  Tomatoes are in the ingredient list.

The current issue of Cooking Light arrived in my mailbox recently and there are several recipes featuring fresh tomatoes.  (Unfortunately the cover recipe does not include tomatoes but there’s a likelihood I’ll break my rule of tomatoes being in the ingredient list for that creamy deliciousness that they claim is the “best ever.”)

tacos 003

The ingredient list for Flank Steak Grilled Chicken with Tomato-Balsamic Sauce is simple.  Besides the protein of your choice, you’ll need garlic, shallot, green onions, balsamic vinegar, tomatoes and basil.

tacos 004

 

I started by grilling the chicken breasts.  I know, I usually go with thighs but the grocery store didn’t have any good lookin’ thighs the day I went.  Seasoned simply with salt and pepper.

Once the chicken is almost cooked through, I started working on the sauce.  The sauce comes together pretty quickly (the whole recipe is a 20 minute dinner – it took me a little longer because I used chicken instead of flank steak).

Don’t cook the tomatoes too much and don’t let the balsamic reduce too much either.

The sauce is then served over for the chicken for a plate full of flavor.  You can’t go wrong with the combination of tomatoes, basil and balsamic.  Classic, I tell you!

tacos 005

 

The whole dinner is brightened up with some fresh basil confetti and sliced green onion.

Any good tomato recipes out there?

 

Leave a Reply

