Grilled Shrimp with Cilantro, Lime and Peanuts plus a Cheesy Roasted Garlic and Shallot Dip

Fact:  That is a long blog post title.

Fact:  Besides an oyster two times a year, Big Guy will pretty much only eat shrimp when it comes to seafood.  I know, he’s such a weirdo.  But it is what it is and I’m not going to force salmon down his throat.  (Though I must add, if he’s served fish, he’ll eat it without making a big deal.  So polite.)

Fact:  I didn’t know what I wanted for dinner on Saturday night.

Fact:  I try not to serve the same protein more than once in a week.

Fact:  He ate steak Friday night, I ate swordfish.

Fact:  We love tapas.

All those facts added up to an assortment of appetizers for dinner on Saturday night.

We started with a household favorite – goat cheese stuffed-bacon wrapped dates.  Holy amazing.

Grilled Shrimp with Cilantro, Lime and Peanuts had such a good flavor but if I could do it over, I’d peel the shrimp before grilling.

There was so much flavor that got thrown away because it was on the shrimp shell.  Such a shame!

The grilled shrimp were tossed with a healthy amount of cilantro plus some chopped peanuts.  The bowl was then drizzled with a sauce made up for lime zest, lime juice and fish sauce.  There was a little punch of freshness from the cilantro and lime zest and some major salty goodness happening from the fish sauce.  I loved the crunch and nuttiness that the peanuts brought to the shrimp party.

tapas 002

The third and final appetizer in our tapas trio was a Cheesy Roasted Garlic and Shallot Dip that was out of this world!  The recipe kept the dip cold, but I wanted an ooey-gooey-cheesy dip so I actually popped it into the oven until it was warm and bubbly.

tapas 001

 

This dip is totally addicting.  After it was warmed, I added some green onions on top for some brightness.  So delicious with good ole crinkle cut sea salt potato chips.  Jarlsberg cheese is meant to be melted if you ask me.  Roasted garlic is simply divine (though I’m obsessed with any and all garlic) and is much more mellow than raw garlic.  It pairs perfectly with the Swiss-like cheese.  Be sure to add plenty of salt and pepper to the dip.  Less salt, more pepper.  Trust me.

We’re the Casa de Tapas.

 

Leave a Reply

