Blackened Shrimp Tacos

The plan was to have tacos on Saturday night.  But I ate too much guacamole.

guac 002

I know, #firstworldproblems

The recipe for this guac can be found here.  If I were to make it again, I would add some red onion and garlic and might even use feta instead of  queso fresco.  I’d also add more jalapeno.  I used 2 avocados and 1 jalapeno from the garden for this batch.  And Big Guy likes creamy guac, so I pulsed it in the food processor.

But it actually worked out – because tacos on Sunday may be my new thing.  Tacos are definitely in the Mexican-fare category.  But these Blackened Shrimp Tacos have a little bit of a Cajun flair to them.

The shrimp is seasoned with a mix of paprika, cumin, garlic powder, oregano, salt and ground red pepper.  That’s the Cajun part.

The queso fresco sauce cools off the blackened shrimp and is quite delicious.  And messy.  I didn’t have buttermilk so I used 1% milk.  Worked just perfectly.  I also added more garlic.  Garlic is my thing.

guac 003

I “blistered” the corn tortillas on the stove top before stuffing with shrimp, homegrown tomatoes, avocado and the sauce.

guac 004

The shrimp were perfectly cooked.  And I loved the spice mix.  Not too spicy but a little kick in there to make sure I was awake.

guac 005

I’m telling you what, our tomatoes are so sweet this year.  The avocados melted into the taco along with the sauce but the shrimp and tomatoes gave the taco some real texture.

guac 006It was a two taco kind of night!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

