A Day of Eats

I follow several blogs and while many of their recipes are pure decadence and full of sin (butter, bacon, etc) every once in a while they’ll share a typical day of eats.  So here is a peak into my daily eats…

4:30am – My alarm beeps at 4:21am to signal it’s time to get up and head to the gym.  On the way to the gym, I guzzle a mixture of pineapple juice (1/2 cup) and apple cider vinegar (1 tablespoon).  Here are the benefits of apple cider vinegar (ACV). 

mornin' juice

mornin’ juice

 

And from another blogger:

 

What are the benefits of Apple Cider Vinegar?

 

  • Rich in potassium, a mineral that is often times lacking in adult diets. This mineral is key for growth, building muscles, transmission of nerve impulses, heart activity etc. It also helps to prevent brittle teeth, hair loss and runny noses.
  • Rich in acetic acid. This acid is said to slow the digestion of starch which can help to lower the rise in glucose that commonly occurs after meals.
  • Rich in ash which gives ACV its alkaline property. This aids your body in maintaining proper pH levels for a healthy alkaline state. (It is particularly important if you drink a lot of coffee or wine.)
  • It can help regulate blood pressure and reduce bad cholesterol.
  • Rich in malic acid which gives ACV its anti-viral, anti-bacterial and anti-fungal properties.
  • May help improve bowel irregularity and helps to remove toxins from the body at a faster rate.
  • It can help clear up skin conditions and blemishes.
  • ACV helps with weight loss by breaking down fats so that your body can use them rather than store them.
  • A few lab studies have found that ACV may be able to kill cancer cells or slow their growth.

6:45am – Coffee.  I usually only drink 1/2 of the cup.  It’s my routine.

7:15am – I am usually starving by the time I finish getting ready for the day.  My workouts are too early in the AM to have any desire to eat so breakfast is one of my favorite meals of the day (actually, any meal is my favorite).  In the mix, 1 cup roasted blueberries (400 degrees, 10-12 minutes), 1/2 cup nonfat Greek yogurt (Fage is one of my favorites, and 1 tablespoon crunchy, natural PB from TJs.  Post-picture, I added in 1/2 tablespoon of chia seeds and lots of cinnamon.

break the fast

break the fast

8:00am – More coffee.  While checking emails and getting settled into the day.  

11:45am – Lunch time!  I eat lunch somewhere between 11:30am and 12:3opm.  It really all depends on how well my breakfast holds be over.  Typically I have a salad for lunch that I bring to work but on this day I was all about the snack plate.  On the plate, homegrown mators, celery sticks, a hard boiled egg (great source of protein and fat), 1 ounce gouda and some cracked pepper turkey slices.  Post-picture, I added some homegrown green peppers for a little more veg and crunch.

lunch break

lunch break

3:oopm – I try to wait until 3pm to eat my afternoon snack but sometimes it comes a little early.  Once again, it depends on how well lunch holds me over and how busy I am at work (the busier I am, the less hungry I am).  Some of my favorite snacks:  carrot sticks and 1 tablespoon almond butter; popcorn; KIND Bars or Lara Bars.

KIND bar

KIND bar

6pm – Dinner ranges from a well-thought out meal to a quick random mix of items I find.  On this particular night I made dinner for a friend who just had a baby, so I saved myself a portion.  On the plate, Spiced Chicken Thighs and 1 cup Mediterranean Quinoa.  In this batch of quinoa, I left out the olives.  I like to eat dinner on a salad plate to make my eyes think I’m eating more.  

dinner

dinner

After that, the kitchen is closed until tomorrow.

3 thoughts on “A Day of Eats

Leave a Reply

