Random Friday

Happy Friday!  I haven’t pinned a whole lot lately so this is going to be an incredibly random post.  But hey, randomness is the spice of life.

About a month ago I posted 10 things I wanted to do before the end of summer.  So let’s do a little check-in:

1.  Enjoy a glass of wine on the sand at the beach.

We have a few “free” weekends left in the summer and I’m hoping one includes the beach.

2.  Have a pool day with the girls.  (Cocktails included.)  Completed last weekend!  It was a rainy but it counts.

3.   Master “curling” my hair.

4.  Visit a food truck.

5.  Eat watermelon like a kid (wedges!  with juice running down my arm!).

6.  Host a cookout.

7.  Laugh until my stomach hurts.

8.  Movie night at home, popcorn required.

9.  Ride bikes at the beach.

10. Listen to music at an outdoor event.

I’m working on the whole “curling” thing.  Practice makes perfect, right?

I might also get to knock out #9 and #10 if we head to the beach one weekend soon.

In other randomness, I’m officially obsessed with the new Robin Thicke song, Blurred Lines.  As soon as it comes on the radio the volume doubles.  And I don’t like loud music.

When the girls came to visit me last weekend, I was in charge of dinner.

girl's night in

girl’s night in

I prepared broiled dolphin (mahi) topped with a peach salsa and grilled zucchini with mint gremolata.  I told you once, and I’ll tell you again:  broil fish.  It’s amazing.  I broiled these pieces for 10 minutes and they were cooked to perfection.  This meal had so much flavor.

The salsa was full of flavor – spice from the jalapeno (from the garden!), sweetness of the peaches, creamy avocado and crunchy red bell peppers.  And the gremolata was the perfect excuse to pick some herbs!  We have an overabundance of mint and basil and I loved being able to serve the girls something from our garden.

Delicious dinner, if I say so myself.

But the company was even better.

And I basically need the game “Cards Against Humanity.”  We laughed for hours.  Inappropriate but so.much.fun.

saturday late-night

On a more appropriate note, I found this on Instagram and I love it.  I strive every.single.day to do all 11 of these “hints”.

And finally, I can’t leave you without a “pin”….

Favorite Workout:  I think I’m going to throw this little bootcamp into the mix this weekend.  And if not this weekend, soon!

And because every Friday deserves a cocktail…

Favorite Bubble:  Strawberry Basil Sorbet Bellinis

3 thoughts on “Random Friday

  1. Pingback: Nachos with Fontina Queso and Candied Jalapenos | A Tasty Life

Leave a Reply

