Balsamic Strawberry and Bacon Pizza

I can’t remember the last time we cooked a pizza.  And that’s a problem.

I was determined to throw together a delicious summer pizza on Sunday evening after a long weekend at the beach.  So determined that I had to venture to multiple stores to gather my ingredients (dang, gluten-free crust).

The recipe is simple.  Use any crust you would like.  I made a homemade gluten-free crust that I’ve made in the past – it hasn’t failed me yet.

You can find the original recipe here.  I made a few changes to the pizza.  I left the chicken off the pizza, I used red onion instead of sweet onion and I used mini mozzarella balls instead of shredded mozzarella.

pizza pie

The flavors were incredible.  The sauce isn’t your typical pizza sauce.  It’s a mixture of a balsamic vinegar glaze and strawberry preserves with a hint of chile garlic sauce.  Such an unexpected surprise.  And yes, strawberries were on the pizza.  I’ve been finding the best strawberries lately and I loved the sweetness they gave to the pizza that balanced out the salty bacon.  The mozzarella balls melted and browned under the broiler and gave me that lovely stringy cheese that just makes a pizza amazing.  On top, a sprinkling of homegrown cilantro to add some freshness to the mix.

On the side, I served some roasted green beans, simply tossed with EVOO, salt and pepper and roasted at 400 degrees.

A delicious dinner.  A perfect pizza.

 

Leave a Reply

