Mini Greek-Style Meat Loaves

Lamb is something you either love or you hate.  I love it.  And in the past when I’ve picked out a lamb recipe I always get disappointed because our local grocery store just happens to be out of lamb that day.  I decided last Friday night that we were going to have  “Greek-inspired” dinner.  But I went to the store with my list in hand with two lists.  One list had the ingredients (including lamb) for Mini Greek-Style Meat Loaves and the other list was my back-up.  I wasn’t going to be disappointed.

Thankfully, lamb was in stock!  The lamb came in a 16 ounce package so I actually chose to make these mini meat loves using just lamb (I didn’t add sirloin to the mix).  And to make it gluten-free, I made my own breadcrumbs out of stale gluten-free bagel chips.  The meat loaves are made mini by using a muffin tin to bake.  Not only is this awesome for making healthy portion sizes but it ensures that the loaves are the same size for even cooking.  The smell of all the herbs was amazing!  I especially loved that they came from our garden.

Greek-Inspired Dinner

Greek-Inspired Dinner

To top the mini Greek-style meat loaves, I made a super simple feta sauce that combined Greek yogurt, feta, herbs and lemon juice.  It really brightened up the lamb.  And on the side, a simple salad with cucumbers and tomatoes.

outside dining at it's finest

outside dining at it’s finest

I enjoyed this dinner outside with a nice glass of bubbly.  The weather was amazing for eating outside.

Oh, and that’s just paprika sprinkled on top of the feta-yogurt sauce to add a little color.  The lamb meat loaves took a little longer to cook than the recipe stated and I’m not sure if that’s because they were slightly larger (we made one less) or if it’s because they were 100% lamb.  Either way, they turned out perfect.

Who knew mini-loaves could pack so much flavor?

 

Leave a Reply

