Grilled Brie and Brussel Sprouts with Bacon, Avocado and Lime

Saturday was a good day of eats indeed.  From lunch to our appetizer to an amazing side dish (the best brussels ever), I “mmmm”-ed my way through the day.  Not too shabby of a Saturday, if you ask me.

While we were in the big city, we made our way to The Fresh Market to grab a few items I needed to make dinner happen.  Unfortunately, Fresh Market did not have brussels (apparently they’re out of season – something I knew – but refused to believe) and I almost had a nervous breakdown in the store.  Okay, not quite a nervous breakdown but it got me frazzled because brussels were on the list!  Being the great husband that Big Guy is, he took me the Whole Foods where I found myself some brussels.  Oh and ripe avocados (Fresh Market disappointed me Saturday – but that was the only disappointment of the day).

Having a Saturday at home is a reason to celebrate.  And so, we had “appy” hour with some grilled brie and an amazing jar of preserves from Fresh Market (okay, they weren’t a total disappointment).  The brie was found at Whole Foods and was a local wheel.  Sooooooo good.

my grill master

my grill master

If you have never grilled brie, please try it!

appy hour

appy hour

I served the brie with some (gluten-free) bagel bites (glutino brand – super delicious).  This wheel of brie had no chance with us.

And for dinner, steaks with avocado, bacon and lime brussels.  I tried a new steak marinade and it was good, but not my favorite – it didn’t let the steak get a crust and I love a good herb crust on the outside of my steak.

But the brussels.  Oh the brussels.  I’ve made a lot of brussels in the past few years and I can honestly say this is my new favorite recipe.  Avocado was made for brussels.  In a weird, “I-would-have-never-thought-of-that” kind of way.  I pinned the recipe a while back because I was intrigued and now I’m annoyed it took me so long to prepare the dish.

brussels

brussels

I’m seriously obsessed with the combination now.

Now go and find you some brussels (I stumbled across some at Walmart of all places Sunday) and add some avocado.  And lime.  And bacon.  Please add bacon.

 

Leave a Reply

