Grilled Chicken with Tomato-Avocado Salad

If a recipe makes it to the front cover of Cooking Light it probably means it’s delicious.  And pretty.

June 2013 cover

I knew that I had two ears of corn that needed to be used and I also knew that I wanted chicken.  Big Guy demanded that he use the grill.  With those requirements, I went on a recipe search.  Final selection:  Grilled Chicken with Tomato-Avocado Salad.  

And a good selection it was.  I headed to the fancy Harris Teeter (I say this because HTs are my favorite and the one in my town is not “fancy” – aka it’s the size of a shoebox) to find some pretty tomatoes.  I found a gorgeous heirloom red tomato and some cute little yellow tomatoes.  Thankfully there was also a perfectly ripe avocado that I grabbed.

This recipe will also keep the kitchen cool – all the work (the hot work) is done outside on the grill (you could totally make this inside, but Big Guy loves to grill).

 

so fresh

The chicken paired with a bite of avocado and the homemade dressing was my favorite.  I followed the recipe precisely with the only change being I used chicken thighs over the chicken breast and in the dressing I left out the shallot and doubled the garlic.  Oh – and I used rosemary instead of thyme because that’s what is growing in my herb garden. (I guess I did make a few alterations.) You have no idea how much I love not having to pay for herbs!

dinner al fresco

dinner al fresco

The weather was so nice Sunday evening that we took dinner out doors.  Even the bugs were at a minimum!

delicious dinner

delicious dinner

Such a satisfying dinner.  And we were close to having every color on the plate…yellow, red, purple, green…

A summer Sunday dinner at it’s finest.  And freshest.

2 thoughts on “Grilled Chicken with Tomato-Avocado Salad

Leave a Reply

