Crock Pot Sesame Honey Chicken

I love when she is in charge of dinner.  And by she, I mean my crock pot.

instagram pic

This “skinny” recipe was my answer to feeding my Momma a “warm” meal when she was in town last week for my bridal portraits.  That “warm” meal promise was a good idea after playing on the front porch of Rose Hill in 50 degree weather in a wedding dress.

Unlike a lot of Crock Pot meals, this recipe only needs 3 hours on LOW.  I happened to have most of the ingredients already on hand when I decided that this was the “warm” dinner that I was going to prepare.  The only real change I made to the recipe was using chicken thighs instead of chicken breasts and I only cooked up about 1.5 pounds of chicken.  Trust me, there was still plenty.  The chicken ends up being so tender it couldn’t help but shred easily with two forks.  And the smell!  I think that’s the best part of a crock pot meal.  You leave home as you usually would and you come home to (hopefully) the most amazing smell ever that just brings a smile to your face.

warm 001

I served the sesame honey chicken over jasmine rice with a side of sugar snap peas for some green on the plate.  On top of the chicken, I added a sprinkling of sesame seeds and some green onions for a little freshness (a tip I learned from the Rach – Rachael Ray…add freshness to any crock pot meal with fresh herbs).

And the leftovers were fantastic, too.  I ate a serving of chicken on top of a salad one day for lunch and it was a winning combination of warm and cold that I love so much.

I should let “her” be in charge of dinner more often.

 

** I’m going to start naming all the food posts with the name of the dish so that they’re easier to find – I promise to update the “Recipe” tab soon!!!!**

 

Leave a Reply

