Mura and Mushrooms

We checked another restaurant off our list!  On Saturday we headed back to Raleigh (seriously – I think we should just move there sometimes) to run a few errands and try a new-to-us restaurant.  Our list of super long but sushi peaked both of our interests!  (If you had asked me 5 years ago if Big Guy would be eating sushi with me, I would have laughed.)  A lot of sushi places are closed during lunch hours but Mura at North Hills is not (except on Sundays).

We decided to sit at the bar to keep the meal low-key.

I was really tempted to try the Murjito but the bartender actually talked me out of it.  A classic mojito with an Asian flair, we muddle mint and cucumber together then mix it with Absoult Mango vodka and simple syrup then topped off with soda water. Served on the rocks.

I stuck with a glass of the Primal Roots (a white blend).  So refreshing and actually perfect with sushi.

We started the meal with an order of edamame.

And for the main meal – I went with the Mura Roll.

Tuna, yellowtail, salmon, crab
meat, wasabi, chives, cilanto
and masago, wrapped with
nori and thinly peeled daikon

And Big Guy ordered the Piano (which was super delicious – I had a bite…or two):

Tempura shrimp, spicy crab salad,
wrapped with thinly sliced avocado.
Topped with eel sauce
and wasabi sauce.

And the Surf and Turf:

Tempura shrimp, crab salad,
cream cheese, chives, wasabi, sliced
let mignon with teriyaki sauce.

We both left pleasantly full and decided that it’s a place we would visit again.

That’s the “Mura” part – now to the “mushrooms”…

I pinned a recipe on Pinterest and I finally got around to making Red Wine and Garlic Mushrooms.  I’m serious when I say these may be the best mushrooms to ever come out of my kitchen!  It didn’t hurt using a good red wine either.

thyme chicken 005

My picture doesn’t do these ‘shrooms justice.  Butter, olive oil, red wine and garlic make for the most perfect mushroom ever.  Instead of parsley, I topped the ‘shrooms with chives.  The sauce!  I can’t even describe!

So there you have it, Mura and Mushrooms.

Leave a Reply

