Fat Saturday

Last week was Mardi Gras but I didn’t get a chance to celebrate until Saturday.  Big Guy and I decided to have a Mardi Gras/Cajun-themed dinner Saturday and called it Fat Saturday.  Hey, better late than never, right?

fat saturday 002

 

We started off the celebration with a cocktail!  Fresh mango chunks, blood orange juice, lime juice and a little agave are muddled together and then combined with light and dark rum to make a Maelstrom.

For dinner, Cajun Crab Dip and Spicy New Orleans Barbecue Shrimp.   I was shocked when Big Guy suggested the crab dip since he’s not a seafood lover but I didn’t ask any questions because I was excited to make a new dip.  The crab dip was awesome!  Best served with veggies and bagel chips (gluten free – Glutino makes awesome ones).  The only change I made with the crab dip was leaving out the panko on top.

fat saturday 004

 

As for the spicy shrimp, prep them ahead of time.  They can even marinate over night – just make sure the marinade is cool before adding the shrimp or it will start to cook your shrimp.  The only change I made to the shrimp recipe was not using as much butter (ran out) and I used half the amount of liquid smoke the recipe called for.  I find that my taste buds are very sensitive to liquid smoke.  The shrimp are roasted in the oven until perfectly tender.  Finger lickin’ good!

fat saturday 005

 

The perfect Fat Tuesday Saturday!

Leave a Reply

