Spicy Basil Chicken

This past weekend my family was in town visiting so that they could attend a party (more on the party Wednesday) on Saturday night.  My youngest brother and his girlfriend were able to arrive early enough on Friday night to eat dinner with us.  Living in a small town, you don’t really take out-of-town-guests out to dinner because there just isn’t a lot to offer.  So I cooked!  But cooking for these two is tricky…Jamie (Logan’s GF) is particular about food (Jamie knows I love her regardless).  She’s especially particular about beef – no pink.  Well, “no pink” in beef pains Big Guy.  So I went with chicken.  Because Big Guy doesn’t like pink chicken and neither does Jamie.  On the menu:  Spicy Basil Chicken over Sesame Brown Rice with a side of Sauteed Snow Peas and Peppers.

I only made a few changes to the recipes.  For the chicken, I omitted the fish sauce and used more tamari (gluten-free soy sauce).  And for the rice, I didn’t use brown rice, I used jasmine rice.

Talk about a flavorful dinner!  You can control the spiciness of the chicken by altering the amount of chile paste you add to the chicken.  And the basil adds so much freshness to the whole plate.  From the nuttiness of the sesame oil in the veggies to the brightness of the lime juice in the rice to the saltiness of the chicken.  It was perfection.  Jamie even thought it was a great dinner.  I think we all cleared our plate.

basil chicken 001

Leave a Reply

