Savory and Southern

Pimiento cheese is totally a Southern thing.  Pimiento cheese is also something Big Guy is obsessed with.  Which makes sense, seeing as though he’s totally Southern and all.  Pimiento cheese is normally loaded with mayo and cheese which makes it a high-calorie food (which isn’t always a bad thing – moderation, people!).  However, this pimiento cheese sammie is totally weeknight approved.  And Big Guy approved.

Open-Faced Pimiento Cheese BLTs.  Oh yes, I combined Southern pimiento cheese and BACON!  The unexpected ingredient, however, is Parmesan cheese.  Totally not Southern.  But it  makes this sandwich spread rock.  I also really loved the splash of cider vinegar.  I used white cheddar because it’s what I had on hand and it’s wasn’t reduced-fat because I don’t believe in reduced-fat cheese.  It’s just my belief system.

delicious 001

 

I left the arugula off the sandwich and served roasted brussels on the side.  Big Guy ate his sandwich with a top.   And have y’all heard of “brown” tomatoes?  I picked them up at Trader Joe’s and they were fantastic!!!  They’re ugly but super sweet.  And the bacon just took it over the top.  Savory and Southern.  Just the way I like it.

Leave a Reply

