Paradise Pizza

Last week was National Pizza Week so of course I had to participate!

Food Network’s Diners, Drive-ins and Dives is a show that can be found playing on the t.v. at least once a week.  It’s a no-brainer show, meaning I can be doing other things while watching it and not have to worry about missing anything.  During an episode last week, a pizza from Psycho Suzie’s was showcased.  I immediately knew that was the pizza we were making on Saturday.

Paradise Pizza:  Canadian Bacon, pineapple, pineapple rum-soaked raisins and red onion atop a pile of mozzarella   

Pineapple rum-soaked raisins?  Yes, please!  Obviously I didn’t have a recipe to follow just an ingredient list.  To prepare the raisins, I soaked about 1/2 a cup of raisins in a mixture of coconut rum (Malibu) and pineapple juice (from the can of the pineapple chunks I was going to use).  Those were prepped about 5 hours before eating time.

pizzaburger 008

 

While the dough (I used a Bob Mill’s gluten-free mix) was resting I prepped the remaining ingredients.

pizzaburger 009

 

Pineapple chunks, pre-made pizza sauce, Canadian bacon (cut into quarters) and red onion (sliced thinly).  While I was prepping those ingredients, Big Guy was grating the mozzarella.  Tip:  If you’re grating a mozzarella ball, place it in the freezer for 10-15 minutes to make it easier.

Oh man…patience wasn’t easy while this pizza was baking.

pizzaburger 010

 

Once it came out of the oven, I was more than ready to dig in!

pizzaburger 011

 

Paradise Pizza perfection!  Don’t let the raisins scare you!  This combination had sweet, savory, salty and creamy.

I honestly escaped to paradise while enjoying this pizza.  Despite my tendency to never make a recipe twice…this may be an exception.

Leave a Reply

