The holidays are “Jamaican” me crazy.

I simply love the holidays (as I’ve said many times before).  I understand why the malls seem a little busier and the local Target may not have as many empty parking spots but honestly, every where is busy during this time of the year.  A simple errand takes twice as much time as it would in, say, July.  That’s why it’s nice to have easy, 30-minute recipes on hand.  Just because it’s the holidays doesn’t mean you shouldn’t sit down to a warm, comforting dinner.  I made this recipe meatless by simply taking out the chicken.  Jamaican Stew was to the rescue last night.  After running errands around time, I arrived home, threw on my comfy (Christmas-themed) pajama pants and got to work on dinner.  Go ahead and get the rice started – it takes the longest.  Then chop up your onion. That’s honestly all the work you have to do!

I made a few changes, beyond leaving out the chicken.  I opted to leave the red wine out because opening up the bottle for 1/4 of a cup just wasn’t worth it – red wine doesn’t keep like white does.  So I used water instead.  I didn’t use capers because I didn’t have them but I did use a little more garlic (imagine that!).

Dinner was on the table in 30 minutes.  You simply saute the onions and garlic in a little olive oil.  Add in the spices, beans and tomatoes plus a little water and let it simmer.  Leaving out the chicken actually saved time!

jamaican 001

 

This bowl of stew had so much flavor!  I didn’t even miss the chicken (or the red wine).

jamaican 002

 

Leave a Reply

