“Those look authentic.”

I’m not really sure what “authentic” enchiladas look like in Big Guys mind (I’m not sure about a lot of things that go through that Guys mind, to be honest) but we both LOVED these bad boys vegetarian enchiladas.  Even the most “meat and potatoes” man around wouldn’t miss the beef or chicken.  Promise.

First things first, preheat the oven so that’s waiting on you and you’re not waiting on it to heat up.  Then melt a little pat of butter and saute your diced onion.  This is also a good time to throw your spinach in the microwave if it’s not defrosted yet.

onion that's white

While that’s sizzlin’ away, gather your other ingredients. 

the important stuff

Once the onion is tender, add garlic salt, red pepper flakes (next time I’ll add more), and spinach.  Heat until the spinach is warmed through.

In a bowl, combine the cottage cheese (I used 2%), Greek yogurt (I used fat-free) and the spinach mixture.  Get your stir on.  Warm your tortillas (I used corn tortillas) for about 30 seconds (I wrapped them in a paper towel).

fill 'em up

Place about 1/4 cup of the mixture in the tortillas, roll ’em up and then place seam down in a baking dish.

naked enchiladas

Then pour on the enchilada sauce.  I used mild…next time I’m turning the heat on a bit and using medium.

saucy

Sprinkle with cheese (I used Seriously Sharp).

dressed enchiladas

Bake for about 20 minutes or until the cheese is bubbly.

"those look authentic."

Serve.  Eat.  But don’t burn your mouth.

oh.my.goodness.gracious.alive.

Big Guy kept repeating “these are so good” over and over.  Yes, yes they were. 

They were so good (and “authentic”).

6 thoughts on ““Those look authentic.”

  1. Looks great, but I still like meat! However, a little extra cheese in mine and I’m sure I wouldn’t care whether or not there was any meat.

  2. Pingback: Not that I need a reason… « A Tasty Life

Leave a Reply

