Mom’s Creamy Chicken and Broccoli Casserole

If you grew up in the South, I’m sure you’ve eaten a chicken casserole.  A deliciously creamy baked dish with cream of mushroom soup, broccoli, chicken, perhaps rice and always cheese on top.  Perhaps it’s your Momma’s recipe and I would never tell you that this casserole is better.  But this casserole is healthier.  And quite delicious.  The best part, there’s no “funky” ingredients (there’s no telling what is in cream of mushroom soup).

The best part of this twist on a classic, it takes a lot less time to cook.  Most of the cooking is done on the stove top and the only thing you need your oven for is broiling to get the cheese melted

The base of the casserole (or skillet dinner) is mushrooms and onions.  Lots of mushrooms.  The use of mushrooms adds so much flavor and a real heartiness to the dish.  And because we’re not using cream of mushroom soup, we need creaminess.  The use of milk (I used almond milk), Greek yogurt and a smidge of mayo makes it just as creamy as the orgininal.  The recipe calls for flour to thicken the sauce, but I used 1 tablespoon of cornstarch instead to make it gluten-free.

Instead of having to cut and blanch broccoli, steam-in-the-bag broccoli is used which is not only a time saver but saves you a lot of washing of dishes.  Another time saver?  Rotisserie chicken from Harris Teeter.  I did all my grocery shopping on Saturday.  Once I got home from the store, I went ahead and prepped the chicken – removing the skin and bones and shredding – so that it was ready for me when I needed it.  Might I had that the rotisserie chicken cost me $7 and I will get a total of 6 individual meals from that chicken (2 plates last night, 2 lunches of leftovers for Big Guy and 2 salads tonight).  Totally worth the $7.

On top, a mix of cheddar cheese (I used sharp white cheddar) and Parmesan.  Both of these cheeses are packed with flavor so a little goes a long way.

Might I add that Big Guy wanted to lick the bowl?

It’s that good.

2 thoughts on “Mom’s Creamy Chicken and Broccoli Casserole

  1. Pingback: Roasted Acorn Squash with Cranberries and Pumpkinseeds {plus a kale caesar salad} | A Tasty Life

Leave a Reply

