Sausage Ragu over Creamy Polenta

I will never understand why “grits” are sometimes referred to as “polenta.”  Being the Southern gal that I am, I adore grits.  I grew up eating grits for breakfast.  I even had them as a snack in middle school and high school.  I love grits.

I don’t eat them as much these days.  I always have grits Christmas morning (in the best grits casserole on the planet) and I’ll occasionally make or order shrimp and grits.

Last night’s original menu plan fell through (totally dropped the ball on taking the pork tenderloin out of the freezer) but I still managed to pull together an absolutely delicious dinner that utilized a lot of items I had leftover in the fridge.

Don’t be scared to eat grits for dinner.  And if you are, just call them polenta.

Sausage Ragu over Creamy Polenta Grits starts with turkey sausage that is crumbled in a skillet.  Then onions and garlic are sauteed and tomato sauce is added to the party.  I actually had some leftover homemade tomato sauce from Sunday (more on that later) and I had exactly the amount needed – 1 1/2 cups.  While that simmered on the stove, I prepared the grits.  Water and milk (I used almond milk) are brought to a boil and then the grits are whisked in gradually and continually whisked until thickened (about 3 minutes).  To this batch of grits, Parmesan cheese was added for a little something extra.  I find that grits need to be heavily salted so I ended up adding more salt after tasting it.

polenta 001

 

The sausage and tomato ragu is served over the creamy grits and is absolutely delicious.  I loved that the grits caught all the amazing flavors of the ragu.  The sauce is super thick and I loved that.  Very different than how I served the sauce originally on Sunday.  On the side, a simple batch of asparagus with salt, pepper and olive oil that was roasted at 425 degrees.

polenta 002

 

I’ve heard that in the north folks eat grits on the sweet side.  I save the sweet for oatmeal – but then again, I’ll try anything once.

Grits:  love ‘em or hate ‘em?  Sweet or savory?  Breakfast or dinner?  (or snack!)

One thought on “Sausage Ragu over Creamy Polenta

  1. This looks like a lovely plate of food.

    Grits aren’t aren’t common over here in New Zealand, though it’s called polenta here too. I tried making it once but didn’t like it. I may have made it incorrectly and since I’ve never tasted it before my version and I had nothing to compare it to. I do think I need to revisit it again though. Reading your post makes me feel like I am missing out. I think I probably under-seasoned my grits now that I read your comments.

    I’ve never eaten sweet polenta/grits. I wonder if it needs a lot of sugar?

Leave a Reply

