Insta-Lately {almond butter, Durham, a mojito, cobbler and more}

This is going to be a jam-packed post.  Pictures from instagram along with a couple of recipes you MUST have.  Let’s do this…

This is my favorite almond butter in the world.  Sadly, I haven’t had any in my life (or my pantry) in months.  Thankfully that changed last Tuesday.  It’s been the best Tuesday in August so far.  The trick – go early.

I bought two lottery tickets on Wednesday.  Obviously I did not win.

I had to have blood drawn last week (nothing’s wrong with me – just checking my liver enzymes after taking a medication to get rid of a fungus – true story).  To make the day better, I grabbed a cup of coffee from a new Dunkin’ Donuts in town.

Big Guy took me out on a date Friday.  It was absolutely perfect.  We started the evening at Alley Twenty Six (recommendation from Laura).   Cocktails are an art at this establishment and I loved the vibe.  I started the night with Yet Another Parlour Trick - White Rum, Lime, Benedictine & a bit of very local bstrawberry lemon thyme sorbet from our friends at The Parlour.  It was the perfect cocktail to sip while enjoying the company of my husband.  We ordered a little cheese plate later on with a little cured duck breast (we just had to try it).  I highly recommend you visit Alley Twenty Six if you’re ever in Durham.

I didn’t take any pictures at bar de Mateo Tapas. I had heard amazing things about this restaurant and it’s been on my list for a while.  (Make reservations – they fill up fast!)  Had I known better, I would have requested a high-top table – the low-top tables are super close together and it was rather loud.  But the food and service made up for it one hundred times.  I love the concept of “small plates” – you get to try a variety of dishes without making yourself uncomfortably full.  We honestly tried so many dishes (no pics – it was dark and I was just enjoying my dinner) but some of our favorites were:

DÁTIL - medjool dates, goat cheese, country ham

COSTILLAS de PUERCO  pork ribs, espellette pepper jelly

MIGAS y CHICHARRONES  toasted bread crumbs, crispy chicken skin, broccoli,
cheddar cheese, mornay

ELOTE ASADO  local corn, chorizo butter, chc smoked farmer’s cheese, green onion

I ended the night with a chocolate martini at Revolution.    I honestly live for nights like Friday night.  One of my favorites things in life is exploring the food and drinks of a “new to us” town with Big Guy.

Saturday morning we ventured to the Durham Farmers’ Market before heading east.  I crossed the food truck off my summer “to do” list, folks!!!

Saturday afternoon I made the best mojito (or two) of my life.  Frosty Coconut Mojito.

At the Farmers’ Market on Saturday, we picked up some blackberries.  And they weren’t just any blackberries.  They were the best blackberries I’ve tasted in a long time.  Had I tried them while I was purchasing them, I would have bought more than one container of these little gems.  They were destined for a cobbler for Big Guy.  My cobbler recipe is the same cobbler recipe that my Momma makes.  And it’s cobbler perfection.  The recipe is simple – 5 ingredients – but when you use fruit that’s in season, you don’t need any fancy ingredients.

The Best Cobbler Ever

- 1 stick butter
- 1 cup sugar
- 1 cup self-rising flour
- 3/4 cup milk
- fruit

Melt the butter in a small baking dish (don’t get fancy on me – just stick it in the microwave).  In another bowl, mix together the sugar, flour and milk.  Pour mixture on top of the melted butter.  DO NOT MIX!  Drop the fruit on top.  DO NOT MIX.  Sprinkle with sugar.  Bake at 350 degrees until browned.

Blueberries and peaches are also fantastic in this cobbler recipe.

Let me know how you like it!

Until next time…

Leave a Reply

