A Christmas Survey

I saw this survey  and just couldn’t resist taking it myself.  I mean, Christmas only comes once a year…

1.  Favorite Christmas Album/CD/Song?

So I’ve pretty much played this Christmas CD on repeat for the past 11 years (since Christmas my senior year in high school).  In fact, the last 2 songs won’t play anymore.  Obsessed.

2.  Run on Christmas morning or take the day off?

from pinterest

Do I ever run?  There’s you answer.  I admit, I love a morning workout (the earlier the better) and I’m a very dedicated soul, always finding a way to fit in a little gym time in the mornings.  But when it comes to Christmas, it’s an “off” day.  In fact, that’s already written into my planner.  Sorry I’m not sorry.

3.  What do you usually eat on Christmas morning?

holiday mimosa

Oh my.  It’s quite the spread!  For as long as I can remember, all our family comes over for Christmas morning brunch.  It’s fantastic.  And this year it’s even more special because Big Guy will be there with me.  Mimosas are the most important part of the brunch.  (I kid, I kid)  But the spread is full of sausage balls (those go fast, so you best get some while they last), sausage and egg casserole, grits casserole (ahhh-mazing), fruit and banana bread.  One of my favorite meals of the year – beats Thanksgiving dinner any day!

4.  Favorite Christmas tradition?

Oh man, there are so many…my parents always made Christmas so special for us.  When all of us (the kids) lived at home, we would wait at the top of the stairs before making our way down to see what Santa brought us.  I still resist going down the stairs until I can wake one of the brothers up.  One fun tradition – our names aren’t on the presents – each year there’s a different theme.  One year we were Santa’s reindeer, one year we were Saved by the Bell characters…what in the world will we be this year?

5.  Real tree, fake tree, no tree?

Christmas 2012

I can understand why some people have a fake tree.  But NO tree?!?!  That’s un-American.  I can’t be friends with people that don’t have a Christmas tree.  Growing up, we went back and forth between real and fake – and then my Momma took it to the extreme one year (she’s incredibly picky) and I think Dad drew the line…fake it was.  (Though they’re back on the “real” track now!)  Since I’m marrying a Christmas-tree  obsessed man, it’s safe to say I’ll always have a real tree (unless it falls again).

before (2 years ago)

after (2 years ago)

6.  Christmas pajamas – yay or nay?

Do you know me?

Christmas – 2009

Growing up, we always got a new pair of pajamas on Christmas Eve.  LOVE Christmas pajamas!  The picture above is post-marriage for Maggie…she changed into matching pajamas just because it’s tradition.

Christmas – 2006

Mags…Can me, you AND Haines AND Peaches have matching pajamas?!?!?!

7.  Where do you spend the holidays?

I’m spoiled.  I’ve woken up in the same house on Christmas morning for over 27 years (I can’t remember the years I didn’t…1983, 1984, 1985….).  I guess that’s part of the whole “tradition” part for me.  I know that one day I’ll wake up somewhere different – but I can’t think about that right now.

Christmas – 2006

Christmas – 2008

Christmas – 2009

Christmas -2011

8.  Food you always have during the holiday season?  Favorite Christmas food/treat?

For some reason, mimosas taste the best on December 25th with my sister by my side.  And sausage balls plus all the delicious casseroles on Christmas morning – I only have them once a year!

9.  Open presents one at a time or all at once?

Christmas is an alllllllllllllllll day event for my family.  It’s a one-at-a-time kind of deal!

10.  Favorite Christmas movie?

Another fun fact, growing up we got a new Christmas movie on video/dvd each year.  My Momma has QUITE the collection.  Back to the questions – that’s impossible to answer.  So here are a few favorites:

11 days!!!!!!!!!!!!  I’m so ready for Christmas after this post.

Your turn…answer one (or more) of the questions above….

7 thoughts on “A Christmas Survey

  1. First, I must admit, THIS post made me cry. Happy tears and sad tears. You all are soooo lucky to have all of the traditional FAMILY Christmas. Not having my dad at Christmas is sad no matter how many years go by. HE was the BIGGEST Christmas kid ever! He was the one that woke us up waaayyyyy early on Christmas morning! Our toys were assembled, battery ready, & set up on Go! My mom says it is all because they, of course, had to make sure everything worked. She still laughs today and says “I’m surprised we didn’t wake you and your brother up playing with all of your stuff.”

    My neighborhood was the greatest! Our street always competed to see who could out do the other withOUT being too tacky!

    My mom also did sausage balls…and you bet, you better get them while you could! They were always the first to go! :) She would make sausage biscuts, pancakes, hay stacks, and my favorite Buggle chips with peanut butter dipped in chocolate! Yummy to me!

    It was ususally just us (mom, daddy, brother, and me) until about lunch time when we went to my dad’s sister’s house for lunch. Living 550 miles away from my mom’s family at Christmas wasn’t too big of a deal since we had that part of Christmas at Thanksgiving when we traveled from Jacksonville FL to Rocky Mount NC.

    Ok….so now that I have messed up my make-up, I’m going to “clean up”. Thank you for sharing such wonderful memories and for allowing me to share a few of mine.

    I wish you and your family a very Merry Christmas!!!

    Love ya – Mean it! xoxo

    PS: I apologize for any type-o’s….blame it on wonderful tears full of memories!

    • Awww, Carie!!!!! I didn’t mean to make you cry. But I’m glad you enjoyed reading about some of my traditions. Some of our traditions have changed throughout the years but the reason behind the season remains the same.

      I truly believe that your Daddy will be with you this Christmas morning and EVERY Christmas morning until you celebrate with him upstairs.

      Love you!!!!!!

      • Very true. I know my dad is always with me. He loved Christmas so much. I was an honest to goodness Daddy’s Girl. He would be the one to race you down the stairs on Christmas morning or race you to grab the last sausage ball only to give it to you anyway. :) Memories like that are priceless. Your family is truly a rare gem. If every family had the bond you all seem to share, the world would be a much better place. I think you all have one of the true meanings of Christmas—Family Full of LOVE! :) :)

        I forgot to say that I l-o-v-e the matching pj’s!!!!!!!!!!!!! :)

  2. Ahem . . . we are friends and my 800 sq feet doesn’t allow room for a tree. BUT, I do have my margarita ornament on the shelf, ornaments hung in the windows and outside trees decorated so I’m counting that as having a tree :)

  3. Can’t wait to make more memories this year!! And yes we can all have matching pjs. I have been looking for some for me and Haines.

  4. Pingback: Photo-A-Day: Day 12 – 18 « A Tasty Life

Leave a Reply

