Slow Sunday

I love a slow Sunday.  Nothing to do, no where to be.  Just a day to enjoy.  Relax.  Mentally prepare for the week.  That’s just want I did yesterday.  Despite having no where to go, I still woke up at 6:45am…but I got to enjoy coffee in my p.j.’s and eat breakfast snuggled up on the couch.

I did shower and dress though before noon.  But only because I had a slow-cooker meal I needed to pull together.  The mini-turkey quinoa meatballs were worth getting off the couch, showering and putting on make-up.  Instead of breadcrumbs, these tasty Italian bites are made with cooked quinoa.  Can I just say that hearing Big Guy try to pronounce that word (quinoa) is hilarious.  It’s kind of like hearing my Dad pronounce “gnocchi.”

Now this crock-pot dinner does take a little prep work.  You have to mix up the meatball mixture which includes cooking the quinoa (though I made extra of that to save time tonight) and you have to brown the meatballs.  The browning step is totally necessary.  Don’t skip it.  But once you’ve cooked up the meatballs a bit, you simply place them on top of an onion layer and a layer of crushed tomatoes.  And then cover the meatballs with another layer of crushed tomatoes.  Place the top on and let them cook for about 6 hours on low.

Slow Sunday Dinner

Instead of pasta, I served the meatballs and sauce in spaghetti squash boats.  So fun!  To cook the squash, I followed this method.   Stab the squash a few times with a fork and microwave for 3-5 minutes.  Mine took 5 minutes – it was honker of a squash but it was one of three in our small town and it was the best looking one.  Then cut in half, scoop out the seeds and roast in a 400 degree oven for 45-60 minutes.

Use a fork to “shred” the “spaghetti” and top with meatballs and sauce.

Omg.  These turned out better than I ever imagined.

spaghetti and meatballs

Obviously I couldn’t finish my spaghetti squash but I loved using it as a “boat” for my meatballs.  The meatballs were fantastic.  It’s the first time I’ve ever made meatballs and I impressed myself.  I just don’t have an ounce of Italian in me.

Happy Monday!  Make it a fantastic week.

 

One thought on “Slow Sunday

Leave a Reply

