Ono Dinner

Remember that fish I caught this weekend?

 

Not only did I catch the wahoo but the wahoo became my dinner on Sunday night.

 

Talk about a fresh dinner!

Before dinner on Sunday, Big Guy looked up “wahoo” on his phone (he’s a curious guy, that’s for sure) and he enlightened me on wahoo.

Wahoo, according to Wikipedia, is a high-speed and high-quality fish known best to sports fisherman.  In Hawaii, wahoo is known as “ono,” meaning “delicious.”  Wahoo can swim up to 60 mph and are one of the fastest fish in the sea (I agree with that).

On Sunday night, I simply drizzled my “ono” filet with garlic olive oil and sprinkled on salt, pepper and paprika.

On the side, steamed broccoli and cauliflower and some of the most “ono” (delicious) carrots I’ve ever eaten.  I prepared Jenna’s Roasted Carrots with Honey Ginger Glaze.  I didn’t make too many changes to the recipe – simply roast carrots with a drizzle of olive oil at 400 degrees for about 20 minutes.  Once the carrots have roasted, sprinkle on a little salt and drench them in a honey ginger glaze that’s too simple not to make (honey, butter and ground ginger).  Ohhhhh myyyyy.  Simple has never tasted so good.  I forgot how much I love cooked carrots – not something I typically cook.

 

An incredibly “ono” dinner.

Leave a Reply

