What Warm Weather Dinners are All About

Grilled veggies.  So simple yet so perfect.  Paired with a tangy cheese spread, it really doesn’t get much better.  I found my inspiration from this girl  and her Garden Veggie Wrap.  I simply used the veggies I had on hand and I made my own spread (though I really want to get my hands on these new Laughing Cow wedges that I saw over here).

I first tossed sliced zucchini, red onion, red peppers and asparagus with a little EVOO and salt.  Then tossed them onto the grill pan (Big Guy was really into the news – didn’t want to bother – he claimed he and BQ have had plenty of time together).  While the grill pan was making pretty grill marks on the veggies, I prepared my cheese spread.  It’s two ingredients – yes, two.  Light whipped cheese from TJs and fresh grated garlic.

Spread about a tablespoon or two on each wrap (brown rice for me, whole grain for Big Giy) and then sprinkle on basil confetti straight from the garden.  Talk about a burst of flavor (and it smells the divine).

Once the veggies are grilled to perfection (I threw the mushrooms on the grill pan after the others were cooked to prevent mush) pile them high on top of the cheese and basil.

On top of the piping hot veggies, place crisp, cool cucumbers on top along with a sprinkle of salt and pepper.

This wrap is bursting at the seams with flavor.

Tender vegetables grilled to perfection paired with a creamy, light cheese popping with garlic zestiness and the sweet basil that makes you go back for another bite.  This is what warm weather dinners are all about.

One thought on “What Warm Weather Dinners are All About

Leave a Reply

