Bundled and Wrapped

That’s how I like my asparagus!  Sunday I found myself needing a side dish and having some leftover proscuitto on my hands.  What to do, what to do?  Use a recipe as inspiration and make it my own!  Proscuitto Wrapped Caramelized Sesame Asparagus.  Don’t get me wrong, bacon would be fab wrapped around these healthy little stalks but proscuitto worked perfectly, too.  Simply bundle up 4 or 5 stalks of asparagus (I think green beans would be great, as well) and wrap with a piece of proscuitto (or bacon) and place on a baking sheet lined with foil.  Next, mix together about a tablespoon of EVOO (I used garlic EVOO), a tablespoon of sesame oil and a tablespoon of brown sugar.  Brush this mixture over the bundles and sprinkle with sesame seeds.  Bake for about 20 minutes (it will need more time if you’re using bacon) at 400 degrees.

These cute little bundles were perfect for the two of us but they’re “pretty” enough for a dinner party.  Our bundles of asparagus were served next to Bangin’ Good Shrimp.

Now go start bundling and wrapping…

Leave a Reply

