Pizza Sunday

It’s become a tradition.  Pizza on Sunday.  And it’s a tradition I hope doesn’t have an end any time soon.  Pizza is so versatile.  We’re not the typical sauce and cheese with some pepperonis thrown in the mix.  We’re more like the “Let’s make a cheeseburger pizza” couple.  And that’s just what we did on Sunday night.

I was actually inspired by a “nacho connoisseur.”    So Big Guy and I, being self proclaimed “pizza connoisseurs” took her twist on the cheeseburger and put it on a pizza!

For this delicious pizza combo you’ll need:  1 crust, 1/4 cup ketchup, mustard, sweet relish (I used mustard and relish instead of thousand island dressing), cooked lean ground beef (Trader Joes has some of the best I’ve found for a decent price), lettuce, tomatoes, pickles (hamburger chips, duh!), diced red onion and cheese (I used a cheddar-Gruyere blend from TJs).

First, mix together the ketchup, mustard and sweet relish (I used about a tablespoon or so of each with 1/4 cup ketchup).  This is your pizza sauce.  Top with the ground beef, red onion and cheese.  Bake (for me, it took about 12 minutes because I used a crust I made the weekend before).  Once the cheese is melted and the crust is browning, remove from the oven and top with the remaining toppings.  Chopped tomatoes, shredded lettuce and diced pickles (my favorite part).

Tastes just like a cheeseburger!!!!!

Seriously, you must make this this if you like pizza and/or cheeseburgers.  Go, do it!

2 thoughts on “Pizza Sunday

  1. Pingback: 13 Friday Finds « A Tasty Life

Leave a Reply

