Cocktails and Girl Talk

Two of my favorite things.

Last Saturday night was girl’s night in my house.  Me, Butter Cream Queen, wine, delicious food and girl talk.

To start off girl’s night, I made Sparkling Meyer Lemon cocktails.  So far, this is my favorite cocktail of 2012.  In fact, I’m hoping to get my hands on more meyers so I can make my parents a batch.  It’s basically the best lemonade you’ve ever tasted.  With bubbles from the Proseco.  And the hint of rosemary made me feel very classy.  Sadly I’m serious.

Meyer lemons are the offspring of an affair between lemons and tangerines.  Sweeter than lemons with enough tartness to keep you coming back for more.  I think I need a meyer lemon tree in my yard now.

Following cocktail time (actually cocktail time never ended) we put together the appetizer I mentioned last Friday.  Ummmm, drool worthy.  So.much.cheese.  And that’s not a bad thing because you can never have too much cheese.  Hot + Cheesy Roasted Red Pepper Dip.

 

You can never go wrong with cream cheese + asiago cheese + fresh parm + fontina + home-roasted red peppers.  I’m pretty sure I spend half my pay check on cheese.  But I’m okay with that.  Big Guy devoured the leftovers on Sunday.  He was jealous, I could tell, that we made this without him.  That’s what happens when you’re a boy and you can’t come to girl’s night.

And finally, the dinner.  Salmon.  Oh salmon.  How I love you.  Unfortunately my relationship with Big Guy keeps me away from salmon.  But not when it’s girl’s night.  Balsamic and Brown Sugar Salmon.

That salmon was quite possibly the best salmon I’ve ever had.  Buttery and sweet.  Served with brussels (with onions and meyer lemons).

Girl’s night success.

What food do you eat when your significant other isn’t “invited”?

2 thoughts on “Cocktails and Girl Talk

  1. Pingback: Bar food without the guilt. Or the hangover. « A Tasty Life

Leave a Reply

