Holiday Sides

Scratch that.  You can make these side dishes any time you want.  But they do make a fabulous addition to any holiday spread.

Roasted Brussel Sprouts with Sun-dried Tomatoes.  The original recipe calls for green beans but it also gave you the option with brussels.  I’m brussel-obsessed, so of course I convinced Gigi that we must.make.brussels. for Thanksgiving dinner.  The addition of melted butter added a little richness and the sun-dried tomatoes added tons of flavor.  Make this.  I don’t care win – Christmas Eve, Christmas night, shoot, make it tonight.

That, my friends, is a picture of brown sugar marrying caramelized onions.  It is a beautiful thing.  It took everything in me not to eat this whole skillet of sweet succulent onions.  I needed those onions for Wild Rice with Caramelized Shallots, Cranberries and Pecans.  The recipe name says it all.  The time it takes to cook the wild rice is totally worth the effort.  Soaking the dried cranberries in hot water makes them plump up and releases tons of flavor.  And pecans add crunch and even more nuttiness to the dish.  I could have eaten a plate of this stuff.

But instead of filling my plate with just rice, I filled it with tender turkey (dark meat rules!), cranberry salad (ah-may-zing), brussels (ohmybrussels) and wild rice.  So good.  That’s my kind of Thanksgiving.

But like I said, you can make these side dishes anytime you want.

24 days ’til Christmas. (yep, I’m that girl.)
Leave a Reply

