13

That’s the number of trick-or-treater’s we had last year.  Despite the pouring down rain, 13 kids stopped by.  Thank you, kids.  You saved me from having a 28-year old pouter on my hands.

Oh, Big Guy was so excited when the first little kid rang the door bell.

I was more excited about the crock-pot chili that had been cooking away all day.  Crock Pot Turkey White Bean Pumpkin Chili.  And don’t be scared…you can’t taste the pumpkin.  Ask Big Guy.

Toppings galore:  green onions, cilantro, cheese, Greek yogurt (or sour cream) and chips for dipping.

Plus some corn bread on the side!  Made in the cast iron skillet.  Tried and True Tender  Cornbread.

 

The best part, the weather was perfect for chili!  I made both recipes exactly as stated in the directions – but, if I were you, add more chicken broth to the crock pot if you’re going to cook it on low for 8-hours.  It could have used a little more liquid.

Anddddd since Thanksgiving is only 24 days away, I’m going to post something I’m thankful for from now until then…

I’m thankful for my family – despite being miles apart, just talking to them on the phone makes my heart smile.  And I can’t wait to spend the holidays with them all!

6 thoughts on “13

  1. Your ch-ch-chili looks awesome!

    We probably had the same number of trick-or-treaters too! We even asked if we could take a picture of our very 1st trick-or-treaters ever (well, together)! lol, we are dorks!

    I’m “thankful” it’s November — because WE are suppose to have a play date sometime this month. ;) xoxo

Leave a Reply

