Scared of the Shrooms

Have I got a recipe for you?  And it’s so easy I don’t think I can call it a recipe.

In most sandwiches meat is the star of the show.  But not this time around.  Roasted Portabella and Goat Cheese Sammies are taking the spot light.  I made these Monday night and Big Guy was scared of the shrooms.  But let’s be honest, I didn’t really try to twist his arm to having one because I wanted the leftovers for dinner on Tuesday.  Muahahahahaha.

Take your portabellas and remove the stem and gills (scraping with a spoon works perfectly).  Oh, preheat your oven to 400 degrees.  Drizzle a little EVOO on the shrooms and sprinkle with salt.  Roast these for 15 minutes, turning halfway through cooking.

Now comes the fun part.  Take a bun (I used a gluten free Udi’s bun – loved the flavor, wish it was a little flatter) and slather on some mustard.  Place your portabella on top and add the goat cheese (my favorite part).  You could add some arugula or lettuce but I wanted to really taste the portabella and goat cheese.  Okay, that’s a lie.  I didn’t have any arugula or lettuce.

Yes.  And I was smart and went ahead and threw some asparagus in the oven since it was already on.  Win.

Then I tried to convince Big Guy that it looked like a “real” burger.  He wasn’t having it.

Fine by me.  Because I got to devour this sammie again on Tuesday night.

 

2 thoughts on “Scared of the Shrooms

Leave a Reply

