There’s corn in my ice cream.

True story.  But we’ll get to that in a minute.

I’m crazy about feta (I’m crazy about most cheese, to be honest) so when I saw Crazy Feta I knew I had to give it a try.  I figured Saturday would be as good of a time as any.

It’s a pretty easy recipe – the hardest part is waiting for the jalapenos and the garlic to roast.  (Patience…I have it when food isn’t involved.)

Once they’ve finished roasting and they’ve cooled off (that is, if you have patience; if not, you’ll burn your fingers…not that I know about that), peel the skin off the jalapenos (I must note, these are homegrown!).

Maggie was on feta duty…smashing it up with a fork.  She got her arm workout for the day.  Then add the diced jalapenos, the roasted gahhhhhlic, juice of half a lemon plus the zest, and about 1/4 cup EVOO.  And simply mix, mix mix.  Add S&P as desired.

Serve with tortilla chips or veggies or both.  You could also use this as a spread on sammies.  Or on top of a salad.  Really, the possibilities are endless.

A perfect appetizer.

Onto the corn.  Yes, I served Brad and Maggie ice cream with corn in it.  And I couldn’t have been happier with the end result.

I wasn’t lying.

The corn is then placed into a food processor with the half-and-half and processed until smooth.  Then strain.  I need a larger strainer.  And no, Big Guy, a pasta strainer would not have done the trick.  Discard of the solids.  Don’t be afraid – the corn flavor has now infused the half-and-half.  Then combine the remaining ingredients (minus the caramels and the 3 tablespoons milk) and cook ever medium heat while whisking continuously (Maggie really did get an arm workout) for about 20 minutes.

Chill until at room temperature.

Then pour the mixture into your ice cream maker and proceed as usual.

Once the ice cream is complete, stir in the caramel sauce (simply heat 12 caramels and 3 tablespoons milk until melty and all caramel-like) and put in the freezer until ready to eat.  I tried a small spoonful at this point and almost went to ice cream heaven.

It could have used a little more time in the freezer, perhaps, but that would have involved patience.

You must try this ice cream.  It is so unique.  I’ve never had anything like it but want more more more now that I’ve tasted corn in my ice cream.

What’s your favorite ice cream flavor?  Any weird or unusual flavors out there?

 

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “There’s corn in my ice cream.

  1. I really needed to be at your place this weekend! You had two of the items I have been craving…ribs and homemade ice cream. BTW…looove the ice cream cone dish :)

    • Thankfully we’ll we reunited next weekend. :) And I must say, the food last weekend hit.the.spot.
      And the ice cream dish…from CVS last summer. Total impulse buy.

    • It was delicious. I had my doubts…but it was amazing!!! If you love sweet corn and you love ice cream and you love caramel, you’ll fall in love with this recipe.
      And feta makes it all betta. ;)

  2. Pingback: OCD Much? « A Tasty Life

Leave a Reply

