A Rub and a Sauce

First, let me share with you the flavorful rub we used on the steaks Friday night

For the chile-rub, combine 2 tablespoons brown sugar, 2 teaspoons oil (I used garlic EVOO), 1 teaspoon chipotle chile powder, 1 teaspoon cumin, and 3/4 teaspoon salt.  Then simply give the steak a rub down and let it stand for at least 10 minutes before grilling.  Ta-da!  One of the best rubs yet.

Now let’s get saucy.  It was gorgeous on Sunday.  Of course, Big Guy had watched the forecast (one of his obsessions) prior to it being gorgeous and stated that he just HAD to smoke something.  His pick of meat:  a whole chicken.  And me being me just couldn’t stand the thought of not trying a new recipe.  In order to make us both happy, Big Guy played with Smokey and I got to make a BBQ sauce.  Using a Cooking Light recipe, we made pulled BBQ chicken.

another BBQ sauce

Big Guy really loved the flavors in this sauce.  I prepped this before dinner time and then let it hang out until the chicken was cooked.  It’s a ketchup based sauce with a little brown sugar, some cider vinegar and lots of fun spices.  Yes, spices are fun.

smoked clucker

Big Guy removed the skin and then pulled the meat. 

smokin' hot chicken

On the side, some sweet tators.  But not just any sweet tators. 

sweet tators!!!

Here’s where they’re different…don’t just slice these tators, “shave” them with a vegetable peeler to make ribbons.

tator ribbons

Season with some EVOO, paprika, garlic salt and pepper plus a little shaved romano cheese.  Bake at 375 degrees for about 25 minutes (next time I’d increase the amount of time in the oven).

crispy

Like I said, next time I’d cook them a little longer.  Sunday I was a.) hungry and b.) afraid of burning them all thus causing me to “starve.”

BBQ plate

Now that’s my kind of BBQ plate!  A little chicken, some saucy (which by the way pairs wonderfully with chicken) and pickles!  Gotta have pickles.  Usually we’re dill people, but Big Guy picked up some bread & butter pickles (on accident) but that’s what the recipe called for…so I gave up my dills for this meal.  The sweet potatoes were nice and cheesy and the perfect side dish.

Go have a BBQ, people!

And a preview for what’s to come tomorrow…

One thought on “A Rub and a Sauce

Leave a Reply

