Elvis was on to something…

Bacon and baking.  You wouldn’t normally think to put those two together.  But it’s all the rage lately.  From chocolate covered bacon to bacon cupcakes, the possibilities are endless.  Elvis made the bacon, peanut butter and banana sandwich famous and I think he was on to something. 

I couldn’t resist.  Peanut Butter Bacon Cookies.  I went there.

less-messy way to cook bacon

Cook the bacon until crisp and then let it cool.

bacon bits

That’s six slices, folks.  This is my favorite PB for baking:

skipppppppppy

You’re going to want to use creamy for this recipe.  You cream the sugars and the PB (I used a hand mixer).  Then add the egg and the baking soda.  Mix it a little more (I did not mix for 2 minutes – my mixer rebelled).  Then fold in your bacon bits (be sure to reserve some to top the cookies).

Take a small amount of dough and roll into a ball – then roll the ball around in some sugar.

dough balls

Then make the signature criss-cross with a fork that all real peanut butter cookies have.

criss-cross make ya wanna jump-jump

Then sprinkle with the remaining bacon and bake for 10 minutes.  Once removing allow them to cool on the pan (notice I used parchment paper instead of greasing the pan – parchment paper is the bomb).

makin' Elvis proud

nom-nom-nom

And in order to avoid a heart attack like Mr. Elvis, I saved two for me and Maggie this weekend, one for Carie and the rest are going to the hunting cabin this weekend for the boys.  I think I like hunting season for one reason and one reason only – an excuse to bake and avoid packing on “winter padding.”

On Wednesday night, Carie came over for a “cooking lesson.”  She requested pizza…barbeque pizza.  Having made this many times before, I added a little twist to my usual red onion, I carmelized a sweet onion. (p.s. I plan on making that 3-ingredient app verrrrrrrrrrrrry soon.) 

thin slices

i could just eat that.

After that, Carie was in charge.

carie the cook

no jalapenos for carie

ta-daaaaa

BBQ chicken pizza

Bacon would have been good on that, too.  ;)

4 thoughts on “Elvis was on to something…

  1. Yumm-Yumm with all of this! The cookies were FAB! The pizza and peas were FAB!!!! Thank you for “teaching” me Emily!!! I had a great time. :) <3

Leave a Reply

